ONE OF the conditions for foreign tourists to be able to visit Bali, as well as Batam and Bintan in the Riau Islands (Kepri) is that they arrive from one of the 19 countries permitted. Meanwhile, the 19 countries are Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, New Zealand, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, China, India and Japan. Then South Korea, Liechtenstein, Italy, France, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Poland, Hungary, and Norway.

However, there are some Indonesian people who are confused by this rule. There are those who question whether the terms referred to refer to residents from 19 countries, or foreign tourists from other countries who first transited to one of the 19 countries.

According to the Minister of Tourism and Creative Economy, Sandiaga Uno in the Weekly Press Briefing, Monday (10/18) afternoon, spoke up to emphasize these conditions. The list of 19 countries entering Indonesia, only applies specifically to direct flights to Bali and Riau Islands. These 19 countries are foreign tourists from the list.

Of course, continued Sandiaga, the selection of the 19 countries was based on standards from the World Health Organization which included a low positive rate of COVID-19 cases.

International travel from outside 19 countries will continue even though only passport holders from 19 designated countries can travel to Bali and Riau Islands, Sandiaga said that international travel from outside these countries can still be done.

“All countries can continue to enter Indonesia through the international travel entrance of Jakarta or Manado as long as they follow the quarantine provisions and tests that have been set. Furthermore, foreign tourists arriving in Bali and Riau Islands, as well as international travelers arriving in Jakarta or Manado, still have to quarantine for five days, whether those arriving via air, land, or sea routes. “During the five-day quarantine process in Bali or Riau Islands, foreign tourists who enter are not allowed to leave their rooms, villas, or ships related to live on board,” Sandiaga concluded.

Meanwhile, the Deputy of Marketing for the Ministry of Tourism and Creative Economy, Nia Niscaya, explained that the positive rate of COVID-19 cases from a country must be below 5%. Then a flexible returning home policy, and there is no prohibition for residents to travel abroad (in this case Bali and Riau Islands). []