THE MANDALIKA International Circuit has been chosen again to be one of the hosts for the 2024 MotoGP international motorbike racing competition.

Quoted from the official MotoGP calendar, Friday (9/29), 2023, the circuit located in Central Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara is scheduled to welcome back popular motorbike racers such as Francesco Bagnaia to Fabio Quartararo on 27-29 September 2024.

This will be the third time the Mandalika Circuit has been a place for international racers to compete for the championship title, after the first MotoGP which was held in 2022.

Miguel Oliveira (Red Bull KTM) emerged as champion in last year’s edition. Meanwhile, this year, the 2023 Mandalika MotoGP will take place on October 13-15. The 2024 MotoGP season starts at the Lusail International Circuit, Qatar, in early March. Qatar will be the first venue for the motor racing event which is targeted to break the record of 22 Grand Prix.

In addition, 204 will begin MotoGP’s journey to transition towards using 100 percent sustainable fuel. Starting next year, at least 40 percent of fuel must come from non-fossil sources before increasing to 100 percent in 2027.

The 2024 calendar also remains regional, with Grands Prix grouped geographically and along routes that allow for increased efficiency as freight and personnel move across different parts of the world. Racing will be divided into 11 races before the summer break, and 11 races after the break.

After Qatar, the 10 Grand Prix in the first half of 2024 will continue to the Algarve (Portugal), Argentina, United States, Jerez (Spain), France, Catalunya (Spain), Mugello (Italy), Kazakhstan, the Netherlands and Germany.

Another interesting thing about the 2024 MotoGP calendar is the presence of the Sokol International Circuit, which makes Kazakhstan the 31st country in the world to host the competition.

Next, the second round will start at Silverstone (England), before continuing to Austria, Aragon (Spain), San Marino (Italy), India, Mandalika (Indonesia), Japan, Phillip Island (Australia), Thailand, Sepang (Malaysia), and ends in Valenciana (Spain). [antaranews]